Under The Banner Of Heaven

Under The Banner Of Heaven

Download

Description:

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • From the author of Into the Wild and Into Thin Air, this extraordinary work of investigative journalism takes readers inside America’s isolated Mormon Fundamentalist communities. Defying both civil authorities and the Mormon establishment in Salt Lake City, the renegade leaders of these Taliban-like theocracies are zealots who answer only to God; some 40,000 people still practice polygamy in these communities. At the core of Krakauer’s book are brothers Ron and Dan Lafferty, who insist they received a commandment from God to kill a blameless woman and her baby girl. Beginning with a meticulously researched account of this appalling double murder, Krakauer constructs a multi-layered, bone-chilling narrative of messianic delusion, polygamy, savage violence, and unyielding faith. Along the way he uncovers a shadowy offshoot of America’s fastest growing religion, and raises provocative questions about the nature of religious belief.

Details :

Genre : True Crime
Author by : Jon Krakauer
Publisher : Anchor
Release : 2004-06-08
File : 432 Pages
ISBN : 9781400078998


Under The Banner Of Heaven

Under The Banner Of Heaven

Download

Description:

Traces the 1984 murder of a woman and her child by fundamentalist Mormons, exploring the belief systems and traditions that mark the faith's most extreme factions and what their practices reflect about the nature of religion in America.

Details :

Genre : Religion
Author by : Jon Krakauer
Publisher : Doubleday Books
Release : 2003
File : 372 Pages
ISBN : 9780385509510


Eiger Dreams

Eiger Dreams

Download

Description:

No one writes about mountaineering and its attendant hardships and victories more brilliantly than critically acclaimed author Jon Krakauer. In this collection of his finest work from such magazines as Outside and Smithsonian, he explores the subject from the unique and memorable perspective of one who has battled peaks like K2, Denali, Everest, and, of course, the Eiger. Always with a keen eye, an open heart, and a hunger for the ultimate experience, he gives us unerring portraits of the mountaineering experience. Yet Eiger Dreams is more about people than about rock and ice—people with that odd, sometimes maniacal obsession with mountain summits that sets them apart from other men and women. Here we meet Adrian the Romanian, determined to be the first of his countrymen to solo Denali; John Gill, climber not of great mountains but of house-sized boulders so difficult to surmount that even demanding alpine climbs seem easy; and many more compelling and colorful characters. In the most intimate piece, “The Devils Thumb,” Krakauer recounts his own near-fatal, ultimately triumphant struggle with solo-madness as he scales Alaska's Devils Thumb. Eiger Dreams is stirring, vivid writing about one of the most compelling and dangerous of all human pursuits.

Details :

Genre : Sports & Recreation
Author by : Jon Krakauer
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2009-02-10
File : 208 Pages
ISBN : 9781599217703


Under The Banner Of Heaven

Under The Banner Of Heaven

Download

Description:

Traces the events that surrounded the 1984 murder of a woman and her child by fundamentalist Mormons Ron and Dan Lafferty, exploring the belief systems and traditions, including polygamy, that mark the faith's most extreme factions and what their practices reflect about the nature of religion in America. Reader's Guide available. Reprint. 300,000 first printing.

Details :

Genre : True Crime
Author by : Jon Krakauer
Publisher : Anchor
Release : 2004
File : 399 Pages
ISBN : 9781400032808


No Man Knows My History

No Man Knows My History

Download

Description:

The first paperback edition of the classic biography of the founder of the Mormon church, this book attempts to answer the questions that continue to surround Joseph Smith. Was he a genuine prophet, or a gifted fabulist who became enthralled by the products of his imagination and ended up being martyred for them? 24 pages of photos. Map.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Fawn McKay Brodie
Publisher : Vintage
Release : 1995
File : 499 Pages
ISBN : 9780679730545


Three Cups Of Deceit

Three Cups Of Deceit

Download

Description:

Greg Mortenson, the bestselling author of Three Cups of Tea, is a man who has built a global reputation as a selfless humanitarian and children’s crusader, and he’s been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. But, as bestselling author Jon Krakauer demonstrates in this extensively researched and penetrating book, he is not all that he appears to be. Based on wide-ranging interviews with former employees, board members, and others who have intimate knowledge of Mortenson and his charity, the Central Asia Institute, Three Cups of Deceit uncovers multiple layers of deception behind Mortenson’s public image. Was his crusade really inspired by a desire to repay the kindness of villagers who nursed him back to health when he became lost on his descent down K2? Was he abducted and held for eight days by the Taliban? Has his charity built all of the schools that he has claimed? This book is a passionately argued plea for the truth, and a tragic tale of good intentions gone very wrong. 100% of Jon Krakauer’s proceeds from the sale of Three Cups of Deceit will be donated to the “Stop Girl Trafficking” project at the American Himalayan Foundation (www.himalayan-foundation.org/live/project/stopgirltrafficking).

Details :

Genre : Social Science
Author by : Jon Krakauer
Publisher : Anchor
Release : 2018-05-02
File : 128 Pages
ISBN : 9780525565130


Prophet S Prey

Prophet S Prey

Download

Description:

From the private investigator who cracked open the case that led to the conviction of Warren Jeffs, the maniacal prophet of the polygamous Fundamentalist Church of Latter Day Saints (FLDS), comes the page-turning, horrifying story of how a rogue sect used sex, money, and power disguised under a façade of religion to further criminal activities and a madman's vision. In Prophet's Prey, Brower implicates Jeffs in his own words, bringing to light the contents of Jeffs's personal priesthood journal, discovered in a hidden underground vault, and revealing to readers the shocking inside world of FLDS members whose trust he earned and who showed him the staggering truth of their lives.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Sam Brower
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
Release : 2011-08-01
File : 336 Pages
ISBN : 9781608193257


Here Comes Heaven

Here Comes Heaven

Download

Description:

This work is an invitation and guide for young people to bring the realm of Heaven to earth. As children discover their identity through the revelation of the Father's love, they are released to fulfill their Royal Mission: to demonstrate the Kingdom of God by living a life of miracles. Each chapter explains and identifies the inheritance that God's sons and daughters possess, such as the Father's love, the anointing and indwelling of the Holy Spirit, faith, prayer, and the keys of power and authority. This book is not only a companion for the "journey", but also provides a meeting place for children to encounter God's presence that will transform their hearts and lives.

Details :

Genre : Children
Author by : Bill Johnson
Publisher : Destiny Image Publishers
Release : 2011-07-28
File : 166 Pages
ISBN : 9780768495447


Classic Krakauer

Classic Krakauer

Download

Description:

"The gripping articles collected in Classic Krakauer--originally published in magazines such as The New Yorker, Outside, and Smithsonian--show why he is considered a standard-bearer of modern journalism. Spanning an extraordinary range of subjects and locations, these pieces take us from a horrifying avalanche on Mount Everest to a volcano poised to obliterate a big chunk of Seattle; from a wilderness teen-therapy program run by apparent sadists to an otherworldly cave in New Mexico, studied by NASA to better understand Mars; from the notebook of one Fred Beckey, who catalogued the greatest unclimbed mountaineering routes on the planet, to the last days of legendary surfer Mark Foo. Rigorously researched and vividly written, marked by an unerring instinct for storytelling and scoop, these pieces are unified by the author's ambivalent love affair with unruly landscapes and his relentless search for truth"--

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Jon Krakauer
Publisher : Anchor
Release : 2019
File : 192 Pages
ISBN : 9781984897695


The Moroni Deception

The Moroni Deception

Download

Description:

Michael Chenault, award-winning investigative journalist with the New York Times, is rousted in the middle of the night by NYPD detectives and accused of the bizarre murder of a complete stranger. After clearing himself, Chenault finds that Martin Koplanski, the retired history professor he'd been accused of murdering, was likely killed for a mysterious Mormon relic long thought to be just a myth. Twenty-four hours later, Chenault receives an email with a photo of the recently murdered wife of Presidential candidate, Brockston Ratchford. She too appears to have been ritually killed in the exact manner as Koplanski, right down to having the same cryptic character scrawled in blood across her forehead. With way more than just a hunch to now go on, Chenault heads out to Salt Lake City, the site of the Ratchford murder investigation, to find out what, if any, connection there is between the murders. With the help of a beautiful young reporter he meets along the way, Chenault comes to learn the dark family secrets of a rising political star, along with the rather strange but true history of the Mormon church. As he pieces the story together of what appears to be an ever-growing conspiracy, Chenault is pursued by The Brothers, two murderous zealots who will stop at nothing to retrieve the Mormon relic Chenault is also trying to find. What Chenault eventually discovers is that what he's uncovered may not only affect the outcome of the next Presidential election, but decide the fate of an entire religion-if he can manage to stay alive. In the tradition of Raymond Khoury, Brad Meltzer, Dan Brown and Steve Berry, The Moroni Deception is a cleverly conceived, twisting tale of political and religious intrigue by a new master of the conspiracy thriller.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Jack Brody
Publisher :
Release : 2012-12-19
File : 336 Pages
ISBN : 0615722261