The Survivor A Pioneer Novel

The Survivor A Pioneer Novel

Download

Description:

This sequel to The Pioneer is perfect for fans of the Illuminae Series and Skyward! Earth is uninhabitable. Tau is our home now. With that terrifying message, Jo and her family learned the truth: They are trapped forever on Tau Ceti e. But the planet’s current occupants—the Sorrow—are not interested in sharing. The fragile peace Jo negotiated abruptly shatters, and soon a bloody battle is raging between the Sorrow and the Pioneers. As tensions rise, the survival of everyone Jo cares for seems less likely by the second. When a betrayal that shocks Jo to her core threatens to wipe out both Sorrow and human life, Jo must find the strength to speak up once more—and bridge the gaps between all the warring factions—or lose forever the only home left to her.

Details :

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Author by : Bridget Tyler
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2020-03-10
File : 432 Pages
ISBN : 9780062658111


The Pioneer

The Pioneer

Download

Description:

A 2020 LITA Excellence in Children’s and Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Book! Packed with action and unexpected twists, this addictive page-turner is perfect for fans of Illuminae and Defy the Stars! When Jo steps onto planet Tau Ceti e for the first time, she’s ready to put the past behind her and begin again. After all, as a pioneer, she has the job of helping build a new home away from Earth. But underneath the idyllic surface of their new home, there’s something very wrong. And when Jo accidentally uncovers a devastating secret that could destroy everything they’ve worked for, suddenly the future doesn’t seem so bright. With the fate of the pioneers in her hands, Jo must decide how far she’s willing to go to expose the truth—before the truth destroys them all.

Details :

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Author by : Bridget Tyler
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2019-03-05
File : 384 Pages
ISBN : 9780062658081


Lily Ren E Escape Artist

Lily Ren E Escape Artist

Download

Description:

In 1938, Lily Ren e Wilheim is a 14-year-old Jewish girl living in Vienna. Her days are filled with art and ballet. Then the Nazis march into Austria, and Lily's life is shattered overnight. Suddenly, her own country is no longer safe for her or her family. To survive, Lily leaves her parents behind and travels alone to England. Escaping the Nazis is only the start of Lily's journey. She must escape many more times-from servitude, hardship, and danger. Will she find a way to have her own sort of revenge on the Nazis? Follow the story of a brave girl who becomes an artist of heroes and a true pioneer in comic books.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Trina Robbins
Publisher : Graphic Universe ™
Release : 2011-11-01
File : 96 Pages
ISBN : 9780761379621


Trials Of The Earth

Trials Of The Earth

Download

Description:

The astonishing first-person account of Mississippi pioneer woman struggling to survive, protect her family, and make a home in the early American South. Near the end of her life, Mary Mann Hamilton (1866 - c.1936) began recording her experiences in the backwoods of the Mississippi Delta. The result is this astonishing first-person account of a pioneer woman who braved grueling work, profound tragedy, and a pitiless wilderness (she and her family faced floods, tornadoes, fires, bears, panthers, and snakes) to protect her home in the early American South. An early draft of Trials of the Earth was submitted to a writers' competition sponsored by Little, Brown in 1933. It didn't win, and we almost lost the chance to bring this raw, vivid narrative to readers. Eighty-three years later, in partnership with Mary Mann Hamilton's descendants, we're proud to share this irreplaceable piece of American history. Written in spare, rich prose, Trials of the Earth is a precious record of one woman's extraordinary endurance and courage that will resonate with readers of history and fiction alike.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Mary Mann Hamilton
Publisher : Little, Brown
Release : 2016-07-12
File : 336 Pages
ISBN : 9780316341363


The Survivor

The Survivor

Download

Description:

Thomas Manning, branded a deserter from the British Navy, is forced to change his name to James Alford to avoid the death penalty. Determined to forge a new life on the Gasp Peninsula, he struggles to survive the harsh landscape and win the hand of Catherine Garrett. After working in harsh sub-zero woods, he saves the life of an orphan working in a sawmill, and so gains crucial lumber to build a homestead out of intractable wilderness. But first he must battle murderous brigands to rescue a starving bull calf he hopes will be the first of the oxen he so desperately needs to clear his land. Finally, heroically surviving Canada's worst-ever famine, he faces down implacable bureaucracies to keep the farm he has been fighting to bring under cultivation.A captivating and fast-paced adventure, THE SURVIVOR is Book Two of the Alford Saga, a series chronicling two hundred years of Canadian history, as seen through the eyes of one settler's family.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Paul Almond
Publisher : McArthur & Co
Release : 2011-06-10
File : Pages
ISBN : 9781770870703


We Ll Soon Be Home Again

We Ll Soon Be Home Again

Download

Description:

The testimonies of six survivors of the Holocaust are presented in comics form, aimed at teenage readers. Some of them were children then, and are still alive to tell what happened to them and their families. How they survived. What they lost--and how you keep on living, despite it all. Jessica Bab Bonde has, based on survivor's stories, written an important book. Peter Bergting's art makes the book accessible, despite its difficult subject. Using first-person point of view allows the stories to get under your skin as survivors describe their persecutions in the Ghetto, the de-humanization and the starvation in the concentration camps, and the industrial-scale mass murder taking place in the extermination camps. When right-wing extremism and antisemitism are being evoked once again, it's the alarm-bell needed to remind us never to forget the horrors of the Holocaust.

Details :

Genre : Young Adult Nonfiction
Author by : Jessica Bab Bonde
Publisher : Dark Horse Comics
Release : 2020-05-12
File : 104 Pages
ISBN : 9781506715667


At The Edge Of The Orchard

At The Edge Of The Orchard

Download

Description:

“With impeccable research and flawless prose, Chevalier perfectly conjures the grandeur of the pristine Wild West . . . and the everyday adventurers—male and female—who were bold enough or foolish enough to be drawn to the unknown. She crafts for us an excellent experience.” —USA Today From internationally bestselling author Tracy Chevalier, author of A Single Thread, comes a riveting drama of a pioneer family on the American frontier 1838: James and Sadie Goodenough have settled where their wagon got stuck – in the muddy, stagnant swamps of northwest Ohio. They and their five children work relentlessly to tame their patch of land, buying saplings from a local tree man known as John Appleseed so they can cultivate the fifty apple trees required to stake their claim on the property. But the orchard they plant sows the seeds of a long battle. James loves the apples, reminders of an easier life back in Connecticut; while Sadie prefers the applejack they make, an alcoholic refuge from brutal frontier life. 1853: Their youngest child Robert is wandering through Gold Rush California. Restless and haunted by the broken family he left behind, he has made his way alone across the country. In the redwood and giant sequoia groves he finds some solace, collecting seeds for a naturalist who sells plants from the new world to the gardeners of England. But you can run only so far, even in America, and when Robert’s past makes an unexpected appearance he must decide whether to strike out again or stake his own claim to a home at last. Chevalier tells a fierce, beautifully crafted story in At the Edge of the Orchard, her most graceful and richly imagined work yet.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Tracy Chevalier
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2016-03-15
File : 320 Pages
ISBN : 9780698404199


The Farm Novel In North America

The Farm Novel In North America

Download

Description:

Provides the first history of the North American farm novel, a genre which includes John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath, Sheila Watson's The Double Hook, and Louis Hémon's Maria Chapdelaine.

Details :

Genre : Literary Criticism
Author by : Florian Freitag
Publisher : Boydell & Brewer
Release : 2013
File : 364 Pages
ISBN : 9781571135377


The Hunger

The Hunger

Download

Description:

"Supernatural suspense at its finest...The best thing about The Hunger is that it will scare the pants off you."--The New York Times Book Review "Deeply, deeply disturbing, hard to put down, not recommended reading after dark."--Stephen King A tense and gripping reimagining of one of America's most fascinating historical moments: the Donner Party with a supernatural twist. Evil is invisible, and it is everywhere. That is the only way to explain the series of misfortunes that have plagued the wagon train known as the Donner Party. Depleted rations, bitter quarrels, and the mysterious death of a little boy have driven the isolated travelers to the brink of madness. Though they dream of what awaits them in the West, long-buried secrets begin to emerge, and dissent among them escalates to the point of murder and chaos. They cannot seem to escape tragedy...or the feelings that someone--or something--is stalking them. Whether it's a curse from the beautiful Tamsen Donner (who some think might be a witch), their ill-advised choice of route through uncharted terrain, or just plain bad luck, the ninety men, women, and children of the Donner Party are heading into one of one of the deadliest and most disastrous Western adventures in American history. As members of the group begin to disappear, the survivors start to wonder if there really is something disturbing, and hungry, waiting for them in the mountains...and whether the evil that has unfolded around them may have in fact been growing within them all along. Effortlessly combining the supernatural and the historical, The Hunger is an eerie, thrilling look at the volatility of human nature, pushed to its breaking point.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Alma Katsu
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2018-03-06
File : 384 Pages
ISBN : 9780735212527


Tunnel In The Sky

Tunnel In The Sky

Download

Description:

A group of students goes through the gate to an unknown planet for a two-to-ten-day final exam in Advanced Survival only to realize, after a period of fighting the elements and wildlife, that something has gone wrong with the gate and what was a brief survival exam has become an endless struggle for life. Reprint. 10,000 first prinitng.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Robert A. Heinlein
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2005-03-15
File : 272 Pages
ISBN : 9781416505518