The Human Record Sources Of Global History Volume Ii Since 1500

The Human Record Sources Of Global History Volume Ii Since 1500

Download

Description:

THE HUMAN RECORD is the leading primary source reader for the World History course, providing balanced coverage of the global past. are often paired or grouped together for comparison. A prologue entitled Primary Sources and How to Read Them appears in each volume and serves as a valuable pedagogical tool. Approximately one-third of the sources in the Seventh Edition are new, and these documents continue to reflect the myriad experiences of the peoples of the world. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Alfred J. Andrea
Publisher : Cengage Learning
Release : 2011-01-01
File : 576 Pages
ISBN : 9781133420040


The Human Record

The Human Record

Download

Description:

[This is] a source collection that traces the course of human history from the rise of the earliest civilizations to the present. [This book] follows the evolution of cultures that most significantly influenced the history of the world from around 3500 B.C.E. to 1700 C.E., with emphasis on the development of the major social, religious, intellectual, and political traditions of the societies that flourished in Eurasia and Africa. -Pref.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Alfred J. Andrea
Publisher : Houghton Mifflin College Division
Release : 2007-11-01
File : 528 Pages
ISBN : 0618751106


The Human Record Sources Of Global History Volume I To 1500

The Human Record Sources Of Global History Volume I To 1500

Download

Description:

THE HUMAN RECORD is the leading primary source reader for the World History course, providing balanced coverage of the global past. Each volume contains a blend of visual and textual sources which are often paired or grouped together for comparison. A prologue entitled Primary Sources and How to Read Them appears in each volume and serves as a valuable pedagogical tool. Approximately one-third of the sources in the Seventh Edition are new, and these documents continue to reflect the myriad experiences of the peoples of the world. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Alfred J. Andrea
Publisher : Cengage Learning
Release : 2011-01-01
File : 464 Pages
ISBN : 9781133420033


The Human Race

The Human Race

Download

Description:

This fully illustrated, large format book, explores human achievements and the desire to be the first, the fastest, the best in history.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Sean Callery
Publisher : QED Publishing
Release : 2020-10-20
File : 96 Pages
ISBN : 9780711256675


The Dawn Of Everything

The Dawn Of Everything

Download

Description:

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A dramatically new understanding of human history, challenging our most fundamental assumptions about social evolution—from the development of agriculture and cities to the origins of the state, democracy, and inequality—and revealing new possibilities for human emancipation. For generations, our remote ancestors have been cast as primitive and childlike—either free and equal innocents, or thuggish and warlike. Civilization, we are told, could be achieved only by sacrificing those original freedoms or, alternatively, by taming our baser instincts. David Graeber and David Wengrow show how such theories first emerged in the eighteenth century as a conservative reaction to powerful critiques of European society posed by Indigenous observers and intellectuals. Revisiting this encounter has startling implications for how we make sense of human history today, including the origins of farming, property, cities, democracy, slavery, and civilization itself. Drawing on pathbreaking research in archaeology and anthropology, the authors show how history becomes a far more interesting place once we learn to throw off our conceptual shackles and perceive what’s really there. If humans did not spend 95 percent of their evolutionary past in tiny bands of hunter-gatherers, what were they doing all that time? If agriculture, and cities, did not mean a plunge into hierarchy and domination, then what kinds of social and economic organization did they lead to? The answers are often unexpected, and suggest that the course of human history may be less set in stone, and more full of playful, hopeful possibilities, than we tend to assume. The Dawn of Everything fundamentally transforms our understanding of the human past and offers a path toward imagining new forms of freedom, new ways of organizing society. This is a monumental book of formidable intellectual range, animated by curiosity, moral vision, and a faith in the power of direct action. Includes Black-and-White Illustrations

Details :

Genre : Social Science
Author by : David Graeber
Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Release : 2021-11-09
File : 704 Pages
ISBN : 9780374721107


The Human Fossil Record Brain Endocasts The Paleoneurological Evidence

The Human Fossil Record Brain Endocasts The Paleoneurological Evidence

Download

Description:

The Human Fossil Record Volume one Terminology and Craniodental Morphology of Genus Homo (Europe) Jeffrey H. Schwartz Ian Tattersall The Human Fossil Record series is the most authoritative and comprehensive documentation of the fossil evidence relevant to the study of our evolutionary past. This first volume covers the craniodental remains from Europe that have been attributed to the genus Homo. Here the authors also clearly define the terminology and descriptive protocol that is applied uniformly throughout the series. Organized alphabetically by site name, each entry includes clear descriptions and original, expertly taken photographs, as well as: Morphology Location information History of discovery Previous systematic assessments of the fossils Geological, archaeological, and faunal contexts Dating References to the primary literature The Human Fossil Record series is truly a must-have reference for anyone seriously interested in the study of human evolution.

Details :

Genre : Science
Author by : Jeffrey H. Schwartz
Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
Release : 2002
File : 315 Pages
ISBN : 0471418234


Sapiens

Sapiens

Download

Description:

NATIONAL BESTSELLER NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Yuval Noah Harari
Publisher : Signal
Release : 2014-10-28
File : 512 Pages
ISBN : 9780771038525


The Book Of Secret Wisdom

The Book Of Secret Wisdom

Download

Description:

This work includes a new excerpt -- about the past, present, and future of humanity -- from a sacred manuscript of Tibetan origin, known as the secret Book of Dzyan, which was written in the most ancient language of Senzar approximately one million years ago.

Details :

Genre : Cosmology, Ancient
Author by : Zinovia Dushkova
Publisher :
Release : 2015-10-12
File : 270 Pages
ISBN : 599054314X


The Human Fossil Record Craniodental Morphology Of Early Hominids Genera Australopithecus Paranthropus Orrorin And Overview

The Human Fossil Record Craniodental Morphology Of Early Hominids Genera Australopithecus Paranthropus Orrorin And Overview

Download

Description:

The Human Fossil Record Volume one Terminology and Craniodental Morphology of Genus Homo (Europe) Jeffrey H. Schwartz Ian Tattersall The Human Fossil Record series is the most authoritative and comprehensive documentation of the fossil evidence relevant to the study of our evolutionary past. This first volume covers the craniodental remains from Europe that have been attributed to the genus Homo. Here the authors also clearly define the terminology and descriptive protocol that is applied uniformly throughout the series. Organized alphabetically by site name, each entry includes clear descriptions and original, expertly taken photographs, as well as: Morphology Location information History of discovery Previous systematic assessments of the fossils Geological, archaeological, and faunal contexts Dating References to the primary literature The Human Fossil Record series is truly a must-have reference for anyone seriously interested in the study of human evolution.

Details :

Genre : Science
Author by : Jeffrey H Schwartz
Publisher : Wiley-Liss
Release : 2002
File : 561 Pages
ISBN : STANFORD:36105119999618


The Human Journey

The Human Journey

Download

Description:

The Human Journey offers a truly concise yet satisfyingly full history of the world from ancient times to the present. The book’s scope, as the title implies, is the whole story of humanity, in planetary context. Its themes include not only the great questions of the humanities—nature versus nurture, the history and meaning of human variation, the sources of wealth and causes of revolution—but also the major transformations in human history: agriculture, cities, iron, writing, universal religions, global trade, industrialization, popular government, justice, and equality. In each conceptually rich chapter, leading historian Kevin Reilly concentrates on a single important period and theme, sustaining a focused narrative and analytical perspective. Chapter 2, for example, discusses the significance of bronze-age urbanization and the advent of the Iron Age. Chapter 3 examines the meaning and significance of the age of “classical” civilizations. Chapter 4 explains the spread of universal religions and new technologies in the postclassical age of Eurasian integration. But these examples also reveal a range of approaches to world history. The first chapter is an example of current “Big History,” the second of history as technological transformations, the third of comparative history, the fourth the history of connections that dominates, and thus narrows, so many texts. Free of either a confined, limiting focus or a mandatory laundry list of topics, this book begins with our most important questions and searches all of our past for answers. Well-grounded in the latest scholarship, this is not a fill-in-the-blanks text, but world history in a grand humanistic tradition.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Kevin Reilly
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Release : 2012-11-10
File : 472 Pages
ISBN : 9781442213548