The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

Download

Description:

In 1954, in a remote mountain village in South America, a little girl was abducted. She was four years old. Marina Chapman was stolen from her housing estate and abandoned deep in the Colombian jungle. That she survived is a miracle. Two days later, half-drugged, terrified, and starving, she came upon a troop of capuchin monkeys. Acting entirely on instinct, she tried to do what they did: copying their actions she slowly learned to fend for herself. So begins the story of her five years among the monkeys, during which time she gradually became feral; lost the ability to speak, lost all inhibition, lost any sense of being human, replacing human society with the social mores her new simian family. But society was eventually to reclaim her. At age ten she was discovered by a pair of hunters who took her to the lawless Colombian city of Cucuta where, in exchange for a parrot, they sold her to a brothel. When she learned that she was to be groomed for prostitution, she made her plans to escape. But her adventure was not over yet... In the vein of Slumdog Millionaire and City of God, this rousing story of a lost child who overcomes the dangers of the wild to finally reclaim her life will astonish readers everywhere.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Marina Chapman
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2021-11-15
File : 336 Pages
ISBN : 9781639360994


The Girls With No Names

The Girls With No Names

Download

Description:

INSTANT INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER A beautiful tale of hope, courage, and sisterhood—inspired by the real House of Mercy and the girls confined there for daring to break the rules. Growing up in New York City in the 1910s, Luella and Effie Tildon realize that even as wealthy young women, their freedoms come with limits. But when the sisters discover a shocking secret about their father, Luella, the brazen elder sister, becomes emboldened to do as she pleases. Her rebellion comes with consequences, and one morning Luella is mysteriously gone. Effie suspects her father has sent Luella to the House of Mercy and hatches a plan to get herself committed to save her sister. But she made a miscalculation, and with no one to believe her story, Effie’s own escape seems impossible—unless she can trust an enigmatic girl named Mable. As their fates entwine, Mable and Effie must rely on their tenuous friendship to survive. Home for Unwanted Girls meets The Dollhouse in this atmospheric, heartwarming story that explores not only the historical House of Mercy, but the lives—and secrets—of the girls who stayed there. “Burdick has spun a cautionary tale of struggle and survival, love and family — and above all, the strength of the heart, no matter how broken.” — New York Times Book Review “Burdick reveals the perils of being a woman in 1913 and exposes the truths of their varying social circles.” — Chicago Tribune

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Serena Burdick
Publisher : Harlequin
Release : 2020-01-07
File : 336 Pages
ISBN : 9781488050992


The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

Download

Description:

A heart-wrenching story from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. Thirteen-year-old Lisa has escaped from Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport. She arrives in London unable to speak a word of English, her few belongings crammed into a small suitcase. Among them is one precious photograph of the family she has left behind. Lonely and homesick, Lisa is adopted by a childless couple. But when the Blitz blows her new home apart, she wakes up in hospital with no memory of who she is or where she came from. The authorities give her a new name and despatch her to a children's home. With the war raging around her, what will become of Lisa now? Can't wait for the sequel? The Married Girls is out now! What readers are saying about The Girl With No Name: 'Diney Costeloe has perfectly captured the traumatic atmosphere of the war years both in London and the countryside ... Highly recommended' 'The characters leap from the pages. The Blitz scenes were palpable, imagining what Londoners endured during WW2. Love all Diney's books' 'The author writes with good pace, and excellent descriptions of place and characters, but her main skill is in conveying the personal dilemmas faced by her characters. I shall definitely seek out more books by this author'.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Diney Costeloe
Publisher : Head of Zeus
Release : 2016-03-01
File : 416 Pages
ISBN : 9781784970048


The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

Download

Description:

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Lisa Regan
Publisher : Bookouture
Release : 2018-04-19
File : 350 Pages
ISBN : 9781786813831


The Married Girls

The Married Girls

Download

Description:

An unputdownable drama from the bestselling author of The Girl With No Name. Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married and now feels settled in her adopted home after arriving from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war. Meanwhile, the squire's fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming... and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne's past, but she has worked hard to conceal one that could unravel her carefully built life. For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry's return disrupts the village quiet and it's not long before gossip spreads. The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. What readers are saying about The Married Girls: 'Thoroughly enjoyed this book' 'Three words: wonderful, captivating and enthralling' 'I am so pleased I found this author' 'Diney Costeloe at her best.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Diney Costeloe
Publisher : Head of Zeus Ltd
Release : 2017-02-17
File : 416 Pages
ISBN : 9781784976118


The Girl Without A Name

The Girl Without A Name

Download

Description:

In what passes for an ordinary day in a psych ward, Dr. Zoe Goldman is stumped when a highly unusual case arrives. A young African American girl, found wandering the streets of Buffalo in a catatonic state, is brought in by police. No one has come forward to claim her, and all leads have been exhausted, so Zoe's treatment is the last hope to discover the girl's identity. When drugs prove ineffective and medical science seems to be failing, Zoe takes matters into her own hands to track down Jane Doe's family and piece together their checkered history. As she unearths their secrets, she finds that monsters hide where they are least expected. And now she must solve the mystery before it is too late. Because someone wants to make sure this young girl never remembers. The Girl Without a Name is a powerful novel of memory and forgetting, of unexpected friendship and understanding...and of the secrets we protect no matter the consequences.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Sandra Block
Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
Release : 2015-09-08
File : 368 Pages
ISBN : 9781455583782


The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

Download

Description:

Set in the dramatic beauty of the Kimberley region, this is the poignant story of Matthew and his unusual friendship with an Aboriginal girl.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Pat Lowe
Publisher : Penguin Group Australia
Release : 1994-08-01
File : 132 Pages
ISBN : 9781742284019


The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

Download

Description:

The author tells the story of how she was kidnapped at the age of four and abandoned deep in the Colombian rain forest, where she survived for five years by mimicking a troop of monkeys until she was rescued by hunters who sold her to a brothel.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Marina Chapman
Publisher :
Release : 2014-04-15
File : 256 Pages
ISBN : 1605985457


The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

Download

Description:

A little girl is rescued from the ocean but is unhappy because no-one is interested in her name or her origins, until she helps the king's son and the king helps her to rejoin her family.

Details :

Genre : Children's literature, Spanish
Author by : José Luis García Sánchez
Publisher :
Release : 1978-01-01
File : 34 Pages
ISBN : 0631193901


The Girl With No Name

The Girl With No Name

Download

Description:

'Read it in one sitting!' ***** Madeleine, Amazon reviewer She may not remember her name, but her body knows 1940. When a French family is forced to house a German soldier in their spare room, young Noemie finds herself drawn to the enemy living under the family roof. A forbidden romance unfolds with unforeseeable consequences. 1946. In the aftermath of the war, a little girl is found sitting on a bench with no memory of who she is - not even her own name. Justin, a young gendarme, takes her under his wing. He is desperate to unravel the mystery surrounding her sudden appearance - and the truth he discovers is spine-chilling. But one question remains: who is she to Noemie?

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Reine Andrieu
Publisher : Hodder & Stoughton
Release : 2021-07-29
File : 320 Pages
ISBN : 9781529384222