The Night Circus

The Night Circus

Download

Description:

#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Two starcrossed magicians engage in a deadly game of cunning in the spellbinding novel that captured the world's imagination. • "Part love story, part fable ... defies both genres and expectations." —The Boston Globe The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night. But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Erin Morgenstern
Publisher : Anchor
Release : 2011-09-13
File : 384 Pages
ISBN : 9780385534642


The Circus

The Circus

Download

Description:

A real-life vanishing act leaves one man looking for his missing friend in this Kafkaesque new novel from the author of The Room and The Invoice. NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 BY The New York Times • BookRiot • The A.V. Club • Gizmodo The gentle, off-beat narrator of The Circus is perfectly content with his quiet life. By day he works in a bakery, and by night he obsessively organizes and reorganizes his record collection: it’s all just the way he likes it. But when his childhood friend Magnus comes calling out of the blue, the contours of our narrator’s familiar world begin to shift. On a visit to the circus together, Magnus volunteers to participate in the magician’s disappearing act, and midway through the routine he vanishes. Is this part of the act? What’s happened to Magnus? And who is it calling on the phone in the dead of night, breathing into the receiver, but never saying a word? Smart, sharply unsettling, and with its sleight of hand exquisitely kept, The Circus is a funhouse mirror of a read—one that ingeniously reveals the way we see ourselves and the stories we tell.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Jonas Karlsson
Publisher : Hogarth
Release : 2020-01-28
File : 192 Pages
ISBN : 9781101905180


Olivia Saves The Circus

Olivia Saves The Circus

Download

Description:

Olivia remembers her trip to the circus very well. The performers were out sick, so she had to do everything. She... rode on a unicycle jumped on a trampoline juggled five balls tamed lions flew through the air Step into the ring with Olivia, where the lights are dim, the color soft, and a little girl's imagination is the main attraction. Now available as an eBook with audio!

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Ian Falconer
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2010-11-16
File : 44 Pages
ISBN : 9781442427334


The Circus

The Circus

Download

Description:

Willow has everything: a rich daddy, a pony and a place at a prestigious boarding school. Everything except the one thing she really wants: a father who cares enough to find her when she runs away from home. On the eve of her father’s wedding, Willow runs again into the unknown. Her mother was a circus performer and Willow longs to follow in her footsteps. But when all of her money is stolen and her only friend, a street performer called Suz, betrays her, Willow is left penniless and alone. So begins a gripping, exhilarating journey. Will Willow ever make it to the big top and find a place she can truly call home?

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Olivia Levez
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2017-05-04
File : 304 Pages
ISBN : 9781786070951


A Son Of The Circus

A Son Of The Circus

Download

Description:

A Hindi film star and an American missionary are twins separated at birth; a dwarf — a former circus clown — mistakes the missionary for the movie star. And stalking one of them is a serial killer...

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : John Irving
Publisher : Vintage Canada
Release : 2012-05-08
File : 672 Pages
ISBN : 9780307362001


The Circus Train

The Circus Train

Download

Description:

At the World of Wonders, Europe’s most magnificent travelling circus, every moment is full of magic, and nothing is as it seems—especially for the people who put on the show Lena Papadopoulos has never quite found her place within the circus, even as the daughter of the extraordinary headlining illusionist, Theo. Brilliant and curious, Lena yearns for the real-world magic of science and medicine, despite her father’s overprotection and the limits her world places on her because she is disabled. Her unconventional life takes an exciting turn when she rescues Alexandre, an orphan with his own secrets and a mysterious past. Over several years, as their friendship flourishes and Alexandre trains as the illusionist’s apprentice, World War II escalates around them. When Theo and Alexandre are contracted to work and perform in a model town for Jews set up by the Nazis, Lena becomes separated from everything she knows. Forced to make her own way, Lena must confront her doubts and dare to believe in the impossible—herself. A must-read for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants, The Circus Train will take readers on a heart-wrenching and spectacular two-decade journey across Europe. When all is lost, how do you find the courage to keep moving forward?

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Amita Parikh
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2022-03-22
File : 352 Pages
ISBN : 9781443465007


Semiotics At The Circus

Semiotics At The Circus

Download

Description:

What do circus performances communicate? They are rich in extreme skills and clever staging. They trigger strong emotions. They make beautiful sense. This book, which is grounded in the personal circus experience of the author, uses semiotics, pragmatics, and cultural studies to explain why we are irresistibly drawn to the circus. It shows how semiotics can be applied to understand and enhance our enjoyment. This series focuses on the state of contemporary semiotics and its current applications Each volume in the series places its topic within a general understanding of today's semiotics, an interdisciplinary field which investigates the application of sign theory not only to culture, but also to nature. The books are accessibly written and communicate with an academic readership that is not overspecialized.

Details :

Genre : Language Arts & Disciplines
Author by : Paul Bouissac
Publisher : Walter de Gruyter
Release : 2010
File : 196 Pages
ISBN : 9783110218299


Long Road To The Circus

Long Road To The Circus

Download

Description:

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST CHILDREN’S BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES The story of a girl who rides an ostrich straight to her dreams from the award-winning writer and librarian Betsy Bird, illustrated by Caldecott Medalist David Small. "[A] charming, wacky novel." —The New York Times Twelve-year-old Suzy Bowles is tired of summers filled with chores on her family farm in Burr Oak, Michigan, and desperate to see the world. When her wayward uncle moves back home to the farm, only to skip his chores every morning for mysterious reasons, Suzy decides to find out what he's up to once and for all. And that's when she meets legendary former circus queen Madame Marantette and her ostriches. Before long, Suzy finds herself caught-up in the fast-paced, hilarious world of ostrich riding, a rollicking adventure that just might be her ticket out of Burr Oak. “Beautifully told by one of our best librarians.” —Jon Scieszka, First National Ambassador of Young People’s Literature

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Betsy Bird
Publisher : Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release : 2021-10-05
File : 256 Pages
ISBN : 9780593303993


If I Ran The Circus

If I Ran The Circus

Download

Description:

Dr. Seuss's classic celebration of youthful imagination! The Circus McGurkus! The World's Greatest Show On the face of the earth, or wherever you go! Young Morris McGurk's has a BIG imagination. He wants to turn the vacant lot behind Sneelock's Store into the Circus McGurkus—the most colossal, stupendous, tremendous show in the world! Here you'll be entertained by bizarre creatures like the Drum-Tummied Snum, the Juggling Jott, and the Harp-Twanging Snarp, and fantastic circus acts performed by Sneelock—a sleepy shop keeper whom Morris images as the daredevil star of his big top! This is Dr. Seuss at his best, celebrating youthful imagination and creating a fantasy world that will delight and transport readers of all ages.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Dr. Seuss
Publisher : RH Childrens Books
Release : 2013-10-22
File : 64 Pages
ISBN : 9780385379373


The Circus Infinite

The Circus Infinite

Download

Description:

A circus takes down a crime-boss on the galaxy’s infamous pleasure moon. Hunted by those who want to study his gravity powers, Jes makes his way to the best place for a mixed-species fugitive to blend in: the pleasure moon where everyone just wants to be lost in the party. It doesn’t take long for him to catch the attention of the crime boss who owns the resort-casino where he lands a circus job, and when the boss gets wind of the bounty on Jes’ head, he makes an offer: do anything and everything asked of him or face vivisection. With no other options, Jes fulfills the requests: espionage, torture, demolition. But when the boss sets the circus up to take the fall for his about-to-get-busted narcotics operation, Jes and his friends decide to bring the mobster down. And if Jes can also avoid going back to being the prize subject of a scientist who can’t wait to dissect him? Even better. File Under: Science Fiction [ Misfit Fits In | Crime Never Pays | Loop The Loops | Balancing Act ]

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Khan Wong
Publisher : Watkins Media Limited
Release : 2022-03-08
File : Pages
ISBN : 9780857669698