City Of God

City Of God

Download

Description:

Cidade de Deus, the City of God ... welcome to one of Rio's most notorious slums. A place where the streets are awash with drugs, where violence can erupt at any moment, over drugs, money ... and love... but also where the samba beat rocks til dawn, where the women are the most beautiful on earth, and where one young man wants to escape his background and become a photographer. Paulo Lins was born in Rio de Janeiro and at age seven moved to the 'City of God' housing project. He escaped the cycle of violence there to become an internationally celebrated writer, and still lives in Rio. This novel is the result of extended research in the housing project where Lins was raised. He spent eight years interviewing people and researching the drug trafficking and gang warfare that marked the history of the neighbourhood in the 1970s and 80s. Based on a true story, this is a sprawling, magnificently told epic about the history of gang life in Rio's favelas. The original novel of the hugely acclaimed film.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Paulo Lins
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release : 2011-11-03
File : 496 Pages
ISBN : 9781408827345


The City Of God

The City Of God

Download

Description:

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Saint Augustine (Bishop of Hippo.)
Publisher :
Release : 1890
File : Pages
ISBN : UCD:31175013214567


The City Of God Books I Vii

The City Of God Books I Vii

Download

Description:

No description available

Details :

Genre : Religion
Author by : Saint Augustine
Publisher : CUA Press
Release : 2008-09
File : 400 Pages
ISBN : 0813215544


The City Of God Books 11 22

The City Of God Books 11 22

Download

Description:

Along with his Confessions, The City of God is undoubtedly St. Augustine’s most influential work. In the context of what begins as a lengthy critique of classic Roman religion and a defense of Christianity, Augustine touches upon numerous topics, including the role of grace, the original state of humanity, the possibility of waging a just war, the ideal form of government, and the nature of heaven and hell. But his major concern is the difference between the City of God and the City of Man – one built on love of God, the other on love of self. One cannot but be moved and impressed by the author’s breadth of interest and penetrating intelligence. For all those who are interested in the greatest classics of Christian antiquity, The City of God is indispensible. This long-awaited translation by William Babcock is published in two volumes, with an introduction and annotation that make Augustine’s monumental work approachable. Books 11-22 offer Augustine’s Christian view of history, including the Christian view of human destiny. The INDEX for Books 1-22 (both volumes of The City of God) is contained in this edition.

Details :

Genre : Religion
Author by : Saint Augustine
Publisher : New City Press
Release : 2014-06-18
File : Pages
ISBN : 9781565485792


City Of God

City Of God

Download

Description:

City of God is a moving, prophetic account of the divine in daily life. It tells the story of one day in Sara’s ministry: Ash Wednesday, when she carries ashes out of church to public places. Sara explores the profound meanings set loose by touching the forehead of a stranger and paints an unforgettable picture of the search for God all around us.

Details :

Genre : Religion
Author by : Sara Miles
Publisher : Canterbury Press
Release : 2014-05-16
File : 176 Pages
ISBN : 9781848256231


Dancing With The Devil In The City Of God

Dancing With The Devil In The City Of God

Download

Description:

"In the tradition of Detroit: An American Autopsy and Maximum City comes a deeply reported and beautifully written biography of the seductive and chaotic city of Rio de Janeiro from prizewinning journalist and Brazilian native Juliana Barbassa. Juliana Barbassa moved a great deal throughout her life, but Rio was always home. After twenty-one years abroad, she returned to find the city that once ravaged by inflation, drug wars, corrupt leaders, and dying neighborhoods was now on the precipice of a major change. Rio has always aspired to the pantheon of global capitals, and under the spotlight of the 2014 World Cup and the 2016 Olympic Games it seems that its moment has come. But in order to prepare itself for the world stage, Rio must vanquish the entrenched problems that Barbassa recalls from her childhood. Turning this beautiful but deeply flawed place into a predictable, pristine showcase of the best that Brazil has to offer in just a few years is a tall order--and with the whole world watching, the stakes couldn't be higher. With a cast of larger-than-life characters who are driving this fast-moving juggernaut or who risk getting caught in its gears, this kaleidoscopic portrait of Rio introduces the reader to the people who make up this city of extremes, revealing their aspirations and their grit, their violence, their hungers and their splendor, and shedding light on the future of this city they are building together. Dancing with the Devil in the City of God is an insider perspective into a city on the brink from a native daughter whose life, hopes, and fortunes are entwined with those of the city she portrays"--

Details :

Genre : BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Author by : Juliana Barbassa
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2016-06-21
File : 352 Pages
ISBN : 9781476756264


The City Of God Books Viii Xvi

The City Of God Books Viii Xvi

Download

Description:

No description available

Details :

Genre : Religion
Author by : Saint Augustine
Publisher : CUA Press
Release : 2008-09
File : 575 Pages
ISBN : 0813215587


The City Of God Books 1 10

The City Of God Books 1 10

Download

Description:

Details :

Genre : Religion
Author by : Saint Augustine
Publisher : New City Press
Release :
File : Pages
ISBN : 9781565485341


City Of God

City Of God

Download

Description:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER With brilliant and audacious strokes, E. L. Doctorow creates a breathtaking collage of memories, events, visions, and provocative thought, all centered on an idea of the modern reality of God. At the heart of this stylistically daring tour de force is a detective story about a cross that vanishes from a rundown Episcopal church in lower Manhattan only to reappear on the roof of an Upper West Side synagogue. Intrigued by the mystery—and by the maverick rector and the young rabbi investigating the strange act of desecration—is a well-known novelist, whose capacious brain is a virtual repository for the ideas and disasters of the age. Daringly poised at the junction of the sacred and the profane, filled with the sights and sounds of New York, and encompassing a large cast of vividly drawn characters including theologians, scientists, Holocaust survivors, and war veterans, City of God is a monumental work of spiritual reflection, philosophy, and history by America’s preeminent novelist and chronicler of our time. Praise for City of God “A grander perspective on the universe . . . a novel that sets its sights on God.”—The Wall Street Journal “Dazzling . . . The true miracle of City of God is the way its disparate parts fuse into a consistently enthralling and suspenseful whole.”—Time “Blooms with humor, and a humanity that carries triumphant as intelligent a novel as one might hope to find these days.”—Los Angeles Times “Radiates [with] panoramic ambition and spiritual incandescence.”—Chicago Tribune “One of the greatest American novels of the past fifty years . . . Reading City of God restores one’s faith in literature.”—The Houston Chronicle

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : E.L. Doctorow
Publisher : Random House Trade Paperbacks
Release : 2014-08-19
File : 288 Pages
ISBN : 9780812985894


City Of God

City Of God

Download

Description:

"A significant study of religion and power by a probing and caring anthropologist. Full of surprising insights, City of God is a must-read for anyone concerned with the possibilities and limits of political theology in a volatile 21st century."--João Biehl, author of Vita: Life in a Zone of Social Abandonment "City of God is a rich and gracefully written ethnography of Pentecostal Christians in today's Guatemala which shows how a disciplined self, constituted in daily devotional activities, is believed to be pertinent not only for individual well-being but the soul of the nation. With its concept of 'Christian citizenship,' it is also a significant theoretical contribution to the anthropology of religion. The book deserves to be read widely by students of anthropology, Central America, Christianity and religion more generally."--Steve Caton, author of Yemen Chronicle: An Anthropology of War and Mediation "A groundbreaking ethnography of Christian citizenship and subject formation in the neo-liberal era. O'Neill focuses on what evangelical Christians in Guatemala City actually do, by way of a close study of Church ceremonies, cell group meetings, interviews, direct daily observation and close readings of the voluminous mass-media products. The result is a thoroughly innovative study of the way in which social circumstance and politics are internalized. We will be feeling the aftershocks of the movement that is so sensitively studied in this book for years to come."--Claudio Lomnitz, author of Death and the Idea of Mexico

Details :

Genre : Religion
Author by : Kevin Lewis O'Neill
Publisher : Univ of California Press
Release : 2010
File : 278 Pages
ISBN : 9780520260627