Another Country

Another Country

Download

Description:

Published in 1962, this is an emotionally intense novel of love, hatred, race and liberal America in the 1960s. Set in Greenwhich Village, Harlem and France, ANOTHER COUNTRY tells the story of the suicide of jazz-musician Rufus Scott and the friends who search for an understanding of his life and death, discovering uncomfortable truths about themselves along the way.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : James Baldwin
Publisher : Penguin UK
Release : 2001-09-11
File : 425 Pages
ISBN : 9780141186375


Another Country

Another Country

Download

Description:

An exploration into the period of transition that marks the beginnings of old age offers a compassionate view of ways to build communication between generations

Details :

Genre : Family & Relationships
Author by : Mary Bray Pipher
Publisher : Putnam Adult
Release : 1999
File : 328 Pages
ISBN : STANFORD:36105022951177


In Search Of Another Country

In Search Of Another Country

Download

Description:

In the 1960s, Mississippi was the heart of white southern resistance to the civil-rights movement. To many, it was a backward-looking society of racist authoritarianism and violence that was sorely out of step with modern liberal America. White Mississippians, however, had a different vision of themselves and their country, one so persuasive that by 1980 they had become important players in Ronald Reagan's newly ascendant Republican Party. In this ambitious reassessment of racial politics in the deep South, Joseph Crespino reveals how Mississippi leaders strategically accommodated themselves to the demands of civil-rights activists and the federal government seeking to end Jim Crow, and in so doing contributed to a vibrant conservative countermovement. Crespino explains how white Mississippians linked their fight to preserve Jim Crow with other conservative causes--with evangelical Christians worried about liberalism infecting their churches, with cold warriors concerned about the Communist threat, and with parents worried about where and with whom their children were schooled. Crespino reveals important divisions among Mississippi whites, offering the most nuanced portrayal yet of how conservative southerners bridged the gap between the politics of Jim Crow and that of the modern Republican South. This book lends new insight into how white Mississippians gave rise to a broad, popular reaction against modern liberalism that recast American politics in the closing decades of the twentieth century.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Joseph Crespino
Publisher : Princeton University Press
Release : 2021-07-13
File : 384 Pages
ISBN : 9781400832712


Another Country

Another Country

Download

Description:

Set in Greenwich Village, Harlem, and France, among other locales, Another Country is a novel of passions—sexual, racial, political, artistic. Stunning for its emotional intensity and haunting sensuality, this "brilliantly and fiercely told" book (The New York Times) depicts men and women, blacks and whites, stripped of their masks of gender and race by love and hatred at the most elemental and sublime. Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : James Baldwin
Publisher : Vintage
Release : 2013-09-17
File : 448 Pages
ISBN : 9780804149716


Another Country Another Life

Another Country Another Life

Download

Description:

A young law clerk from England falls in love in 19th-century New York and reinvents himself in Canada. Quiet Isaac Jelfs led many lives: a scapegoated law clerk in England; a soldier in the mad Crimean War; a lawyer on swirling Broadway Avenue in New York. His escape from each was wrapped in deep secrecy. He eventually reached Canada, in 1869, with a new wife and a changed name. In his new home — the remote wilderness of Muskoka — he crafted yet another persona for himself. In Another Country, Another Life, his great-grandson traces that long-hidden journey, exposing Isaac Jelfs’ covered tracks and the reasons for his double life.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : J. Patrick Boyer
Publisher : Dundurn
Release : 2013-03-30
File : 328 Pages
ISBN : 9781459708426


Always Another Country

Always Another Country

Download

Description:

• A frank, fierce and insightful memoir of a young girl’s path to womanhood, via many homes • From her stateless childhood in Zambia and Kenya and her college years in North America, to her return to South Africa in the euphoric 1990s and her adult life in Australia, Sisonke Msimang’s memoir is a candid and moving story of survival told through a global lens • With razor-sharp insight, Sisonke untangles the threads of race, class and gender so prominent in the fabric of her own life, all the way from the ugly face of racism in apartheid South Africa to the xenophobia of her newfound home in Perth • Deeply personal, Always Another Country is a moving portrait of Sisonke’s own life journey and all the romance, heartache and grief that has helped to make her the writer, activist, mother and woman she is today • Uncompromising, angry and hopeful, Sisonke represents a bold new voice on feminism, race and politics, in the tradition of Arundhati Roy, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Maxine Beneba Clarke • Sisonke is well known in the Australian writing community, having previously appeared at various literary festivals and events. Her TED Talk on storytelling has been viewed over 1 million times • Always Another Country will be the subject of a major publicity and marketing campaign in ANZ and will be published simultaneously with the US and UK editions. Bound proofs are available and Sisonke will be appearing at the Leading Edge Booksellers Conference in March 2018

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Sisonke Msimang
Publisher : Text Publishing
Release : 2018-07-30
File : 320 Pages
ISBN : 9781925603798


Another Country

Another Country

Download

Description:

The southern Appalachians encompass one of the most beautiful, biologically diverse, and historically important regions of North America. In the widely acclaimed Another Country: Journeying toward the Cherokee Mountains, Christopher Camuto describes the tragic collision of natural and cultural history embedded in the region. In the spirit of Thoreau’s “Walking,” Camuto explores the Appalachian summit country of the Great Smoky Mountains--the historical home of the Cherokee--searching for access to the nature, history, and spirit of a magnificent, if diminished, landscape. As the author takes the reader through old-growth forests and ancient myths, he tells of the attempted restoration of Canis rufus, the controversial red wolf, to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. He details the impact of European occupation, and his meditations on the enduring relevance of Cherokee language, thought, and mythology evoke an appreciation of what were once sacred rivers, forests, and mountains. Through this attempt “to catch glimpses of the Cherokee Mountains beyond the veil of the southern Appalachians,” Camuto forges a new consciousness about the complex, conflicted past hidden there and leaves us with an important, thought-provoking book about a haunting American region.

Details :

Genre : Nature
Author by : Christopher Camuto
Publisher : University of Georgia Press
Release : 2000-03-01
File : 351 Pages
ISBN : 0820322377


Another Country

Another Country

Download

Description:

Longlisted for the Man Asian Literary Prize, this is a superb second novel from the author of the multiple-award winning ‘Saraswati Park’.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Anjali Joseph
Publisher : HarperCollins UK
Release : 2012-06-07
File : 304 Pages
ISBN : 9780007462803


In Another Country

In Another Country

Download

Description:

In a work of stunning archival recovery and interpretive virtuosity, Priya Joshi illuminates the cultural work performed by two kinds of English novels in India during the colonial and postcolonial periods. Spanning the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, readers and writers, empire and nation, consumption and production, In Another Country vividly explores a process by which first readers and then writers of the English novel indigenized the once imperial form and put it to their own uses. Asking what nineteenth-century Indian readers chose to read and why, Joshi shows how these readers transformed the literary and cultural influences of empire. By subsequently analyzing the eventual rise of the English novel in India, she further demonstrates how Indian novelists, from Krupa Satthianadhan to Salman Rushdie, took an alien form in an alien language and used it to address local needs. Taken together in this manner, reading and writing reveal the complex ways in which culture is continually translated and transformed in a colonial and postcolonial context.

Details :

Genre : Literary Criticism
Author by : Priya Joshi
Publisher : Columbia University Press
Release : 2002-04-24
File : 368 Pages
ISBN : 9780231500906


Notes On A Foreign Country

Notes On A Foreign Country

Download

Description:

Winner of the Overseas Press Club of America's Cornelius Ryan Award • Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Nonfiction A New York Times Book Review Notable Book • Named a Best Book of the Year by New York Magazine and The Progressive "A deeply honest and brave portrait of of an individual sensibility reckoning with her country's violent role in the world." —Hisham Matar, The New York Times Book Review In the wake of the September 11 attacks and the U.S.-led invasion of Iraq, Suzy Hansen, who grew up in an insular conservative town in New Jersey, was enjoying early success as a journalist for a high-profile New York newspaper. Increasingly, though, the disconnect between the chaos of world events and the response at home took on pressing urgency for her. Seeking to understand the Muslim world that had been reduced to scaremongering headlines, she moved to Istanbul. Hansen arrived in Istanbul with romantic ideas about a mythical city perched between East and West, and with a naïve sense of the Islamic world beyond. Over the course of her many years of living in Turkey and traveling in Greece, Egypt, Afghanistan, and Iran, she learned a great deal about these countries and their cultures and histories and politics. But the greatest, most unsettling surprise would be what she learned about her own country—and herself, an American abroad in the era of American decline. It would take leaving her home to discover what she came to think of as the two Americas: the country and its people, and the experience of American power around the world. She came to understand that anti-Americanism is not a violent pathology. It is, Hansen writes, “a broken heart . . . A one-hundred-year-old relationship.” Blending memoir, journalism, and history, and deeply attuned to the voices of those she met on her travels, Notes on a Foreign Country is a moving reflection on America’s place in the world. It is a powerful journey of self-discovery and revelation—a profound reckoning with what it means to be American in a moment of grave national and global turmoil.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Suzy Hansen
Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Release : 2017-08-15
File : 288 Pages
ISBN : 9780374712440